Home » Guides » League of Legends: How to change servers

League of Legends: How to change servers

league of legends how to change servers

If you want to change your League of Legends servers, follow the instructions listed in this step-by-step guide to get the job done quickly and safely.

How to manually change League of Legends servers

Method 1 – On Account Creation

There are two ways to change the LoL servers you play on. When you first create your LoL account, you can select which server you want to use.

Once the account created and the server selected, your account is directly linked to the respective server and you cannot use the same username and password to play on other servers.

Method 2 – Use the Account Settings

If you want to change the game servers after you created your account, you can use the account settings page of your game client. But this change costs 2600 Riot Points or about $20.

To change your game server:

  1. Launch the Riot game client
  2. Go to your Account
  3. Click on Account Settings
  4. Click on Purchase RP
  5. Select the new server.

The good news is that you can change your LoL server multiple times, there is no limit to it and the costs remain the same for each transfer.

Important things to keep in mind when transferring your LoL account

You cannot transfer your LoL account from particular servers such as RU, TR, BR, LAN and LAS. Before attempting to change the game servers, make sure this action is allowed for your account and region.

For more information on the available transfer location for each region, check out Riot’s support page.

Always transfer your account to the servers located near your current location. If you play on a server that’s located at a great distance from your location, this will cause high latency and you’ll experience game lag issues.

There are no refunds for accidental or regretful transfers. If you’re not completely sure you want to move between regions, don’t do it.

There are some things that won’t transfer to your new game server region and this includes:

  • Friends List
  • Honor Level
  • Forum Badges
  • Current Ranked League placement
  • Mission Progress
  • Your Shop offers
  • Eternals Progress

You’ll be unranked. Keep in mind you need to play all-new placement games once your account has been transferred to the new server. Ending up in a different Tier or Division is not uncommon. If you change your mind and you transfer back, you’ll be unranked again.

You may be asked to change your name. All usernames are now unique across regions. If you are prompted to change your name, bear in mind this will be a permanent change.

You cannot transfer your LoL account to a server from a different region on a patch day.

That’s pretty much everything you need to know about changing your LoL server. Good luck with the server change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *